/Active shooter reported US NAS Pensacola in Florida – Business Insider

Active shooter reported US NAS Pensacola in Florida – Business Insider

One person is dead and at least nine are injured after a gunman opened fire at a US Navy base in Florida on Friday morning.

Jason Bortz, spokesman for Naval Air Station Pensacola, confirmed to the Pensacola News Journal that an active shooter was reported sometime around 7 a.m. CT (8.00 a.m. ET.)

At 7:48 a.m. CT (8.48 a.m. ET) Escambia County Sheriff’s Office (ECSO) wrote on Facebook: “There is no longer an active shooter on NAS Pensacola. The shooter is confirmed dead.”

At least nine patients have been taken to the nearby Baptist Hospital in Pensacola, the Associated Press reported.

Pensacola Naval Air Station

Naval Air Station Pensacola.
Paul Briden/Getty Images


Both gates were closed and the base was put on lockdown, the Naval base wrote on Facebook.

The US Navy said there is one other fatality, asides from the shooter.

The shooting comes two days after a 36-year-old, active-duty US sailor opened fire at Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, killing two people and injuring one, before shooting himself.

This is a breaking story, check back for updates.

Original Source