/Tokyo Olympics live updates: Day 4 is underway and the medal race is heating up

Tokyo Olympics live updates: Day 4 is underway and the medal race is heating up

Filipino weightlifting sensation Hidilyn Diaz won her country’s first ever Olympic gold medal on Monday, and she’s already reaping the rewards.

Hidilyn Diaz salutes during the Tokyo Olympics medal ceremony.



Luca Bruno/AP Images


According to Bloomberg, Diaz will be given $660,000 and two houses as prizes for her achievement.

Bloomberg reports that the prize money is guaranteed to any Filipino athlete to win gold, but had never been given before now.

On top of the money, she will also be given a house and lot in Tagaytay courtesy of Philippine Olympic president Abraham Tolentino, as well as a luxury $280,000 (14 million peso) condo in Eastwood City courtesy of Chinese Filipino billionaire Andrew Lim Tan.

Read Full Story

Naomi Osaka is out of the women’s tennis tournament. Japanese homeland hero Osaka lost in straight sets to Czech player Markéta Vondroušova in the third round.

Naomi Osaka.

Naomi Osaka.

Yukihito Taguchi-USA TODAY Sports


Read Full Story

If you win gold in the Olympics and are asked to say something to your family, you should be allowed at least one “F— YEAH!” on live television.

"F--- YEAH!"

“F— YEAH!”

Australia 7


Read Full Story

17-year-old Lydia Jacoby pulled off one of the biggest upsets of the Olympics so far, coming from Alaska to upset the favorites in the 100-meter breaststroke.

Lydia Jacoby looks shocked at winning the 100-meter breaststroke at the Tokyo  Olympics.



via NBC


Even she was shocked. 

Read Full Story

Team GB takes gold and silver in the highly anticipated 200-meter freestyle with Thomas Dean finishing first, followed by Duncan Scott.

 

The surfing competition is heating up and athletes are just casually pulling off 360s.

 

Day 4 of the Olympics will kick off at 5:30 pm on the US east coast and 10:30 pm in England. Ten gold medals will be handed out. Here are the top events.

Day 4 top events:

  • Triathlon — women’s final (5:30 pm ET, 10:30 pm BST)
  • Beach volleyball — Second match for Team USA’s April Ross and Alix Klineman (8:00 pm ET, 1:00 am BST)
  • Water polo — Team USA men vs. South Africs in the prelims (9:00 pm ET, 2:00 am BST)
  • Swimming — men’s 200-meter freestyle final (9:30 pm ET, 2:30 am BST)
  • Swimming — women’s 100-meter backstroke final (9:30 pm ET, 2:30 am BST)
  • Swimming — men’s 100-meter backstroke final (9:30 pm ET, 2:30 am BST)
  • Swimming — women’s 100-meter backstroke final (10:00 pm ET, 3:00 am BST)
  • Softball — Bronze medal match between Canada and Mexico (12:00 am ET, 5:00 am BST)
  • Basketball — Team USA women vs Nigeria in the group stage (12:30 am ET, 5:30 am BST)
  • Surfing — men’s final (1:00 am ET, 6:00 am BST)
  • Surfing — women’s final (1:00 am ET, 6:00 am BST)
  • Diving — women’s synchronized final (2:00 am ET, 7:00 am BST)

After 3 days, Japan has the most gold medals (8) and China has the lead in overall medals (18). Team USA is second in both categories.

Olympics Medal Table Day 3

Olympics Medal Table Day 3

International Olympic Committee


American swimmer Caeleb Dressel tossed his gold medal to a teammate who helped the team qualify for the final but did not swim in the gold-medal-winning race.

American swimmer Caeleb Dressel tosses his gold medal to teammate Brooks Curry in the stands.

American swimmer Caeleb Dressel tosses his gold medal to teammate Brooks Curry in the stands.

Tom Pennington/Getty Images


Read More

Russian gymnast Artur Dalaloyan wasn’t going to be denied, winning a gold medal just 3 months after surgery on a torn Achilles’ tendon.

Artur Dalaloyan

David Belyavskiy, Artur Dalaloyan, Nikita Nagornyy, and Denis Abliazin Team ROC react after winning gold in the Men’s Team Final on day three of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at Ariake Gymnastics Centre on July 26, 2021 in Tokyo, Japan.

Jamie Squire/Getty Images


It was difficult to watch Dalaloyan compete seeing the pain on his face and knowing he could tear the tendon again at any moment. 

Dalaloyan did not know if he would compete as recently as the days leading up to the competition. After winning gold, he broke down in tears.

“I couldn’t control my emotions,” he said after the performance on Saturday. “I was kind of proud I could make it, I could come to this point and do all the exercises all the way I really wanted to. The other part of me felt disappointment in a sense because I understand I could not do all the exercises perfectly.”

Read Full Story

Not uncommon for rugby, but it is always fun to see how the balls are delivered to start each half.

 

Most of Monday’s medal action is now in the book. There are just a handful still to be awarded on the day, including in women’s taekwondo and weightlifting, as well as in the men’s team gymnastic event.

Russian gymnast Artur Dalaloyan during the men's team competition at the Tokyo Olympics.

Artur Dalaloyan of Team ROC competes on rings during the Men’s Team Final on day three of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at Ariake Gymnastics Centre on July 26, 2021 in Tokyo, Japan.

Jamie Squire/Getty Images


Team USA now leads the way in the medal table. As of 7:00 a.m. ET, the US has won seven gold, three silver, and four bronze medals, just ahead of Japan, which also has seven gold, but just one silver and three bronze.

China is third with six golds, while Team GB is in fourth on three.

Olympic medal table Monday July 26



Screenshot/Olympics


Elsewhere, on Sunday Germany’s gymnasts continued their stand against the sexualization of the sport by wearing full bodysuits to compete.

Germany's Pauline Schaefer-Betz competes in the artistic gymnastics balance beam event at the Tokyo Olympics

Germany’s Pauline Schaefer-Betz during the Tokyo Olympics in a full-body suit

LIONEL BONAVENTURE/AFP via Getty Images


Read Full Story

It has been a golden Monday for the British Olympic team.

Britain's Thomas Daley and Britain's Matty Lee (unseen) as they wait to receive their medals after wining the men's synchronised 10m platform diving final event during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at the Tokyo Aquatics Centre



Getty/Oli Scarff


Team GB has surged up the medal table on Monday, winning three golds in the space of just a few hours.

Heavy favorite Adam Peaty took gold in the men’s 100 meter breast stroke, before relatively unknown 21-year-old Tom Pidcock surged to victory in the men’s cross-country mountain bike race.

In the diving pool, perhaps Britain’s most-famous Olympian Tom Daley finally won gold at his fourth Olympics, taking victory in the synchronized 10 meter platform alongside teammate Matty Lee.

Daley, one of the most-recognizable faces in UK sport, was understandably emotional after his win, crying on the podium, spawning one of the first truly iconic photos of the Tokyo Olympics so far.

Read Full Story

Tunisia’s Ahmed Hafnaoui won gold with a huge upset in the 400-meter freestyle and his reaction was epic. He might have been more surprised than anybody after barely qualifying for the final.

 

Kohei Uchimura might be the greatest men’s gymnast ever, but his Olympic career may have just come to an ugly end as he fell on the horizontal bar and had some tough quotes afterward.

Uchimura briefly left the arena after his routine but later returned to cheer on the Japanese team. He told reporters he realized that the team might not need him anymore.

“When I came back to the floor after my performance, they were getting together, discussing things, and solving problems by themselves. I don’t think I’m needed by them anymore.”

Read Full Story

The order of nations in the parade is a little different this year

Flag bearers Hannah Mills and Mohamed Sbihi of Team Great Britain lead their team out during the Opening Ceremony of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at Olympic Stadium

Team Great Britain in the Parade of Nations.

Patrick Smith/Getty Images


According to the official Olympic Charter, the Parade of Nations starts with Greece, ends with the host nation, and the rest of the countries are ordered alphabetically according to the language of the host. 

However, this year and in future games, the next two hosts will also be placed at the end of the parade. So the United States and France will join Japan as the anchors of the parade.

Original Source